two time zones

Overview

Dr. Ludwig Oechslin’s two time zones watch uses an adjustable time zone disk to display two time zones on a single hand.

If the second time zone is ahead of yours (for example, +3 hours), you adjust the time zone disk until it displays this number at 12 o’clock. If the second time zone is behind yours, you subtract from 12, and set the difference at 12 o’clock.

The interactive watch below shows how to read the functions, and detailed technical information is available at the bottom of this page.

Your two time zones watch

ochs und junior manufactures about 10 two time zones watches per year. Each watch is sold directly by cofounder Beat Weinmann from the ochs und junior workshop in Lucerne. You can select your two time zones watch from models designed by ochs und junior in our online store, and have your watch shipped via FedEx Overnight Priority. Or you can design your two time zones watch using our online customizer. With pleasure, Weinmann will guide you to your perfect two time zones watch on the phone, over email, or in person.

Swiss made

The ochs und junior two time zones watch is entirely manufactured in Switzerland. The case, dial, time zones disk, buckle, and hands are individually-manufactured by Peter Cantieni in Hinwil, Switzerland. Each watch is hand-assembled and regulated at the ochs und junior workshop in Lucerne.

Lifetime warranty

A lifetime warranty covers all parts invented by Dr. Oechslin, and the entire watch is covered by a 2-year guarantee. ochs und junior’s small scale and direct sales model allow it to offer uniquely fast and competent service.

11:37 Lucerne 12:37 Athens +1 hour
11:37 Lucerne 01:37 Moscow +2 hours
11:37 Lucerne 02:37 Dubai +3 hours
11:37 Lucerne 03:37 Karachi +4 hours
11:37 Lucerne 04:37 Almaty +5 hours
11:37 Lucerne 05:37 Bangkok +6 hours
11:37 Lucerne 06:37 Singapore +7 hours
11:37 Lucerne 07:37 Tokyo +8 hours
11:37 Lucerne 08:37 Sydney +9 hours
11:37 Lucerne 09:37 Noumea +10 hours
11:37 Lucerne 10:37 Auckland +11 hours
11:37 Lucerne 11:37 Apia +12 hours
11:37 Lucerne 10:37 London -1 hour
11:37 Lucerne 07:37 São Paulo -4 hours
11:37 Lucerne 06:37 Santiago -5 hours
11:37 Lucerne 05:37 NYC -6 hours
11:37 Lucerne 04:37 Chicago -7 hours
11:37 Lucerne 03:37 Phoenix -8 hours
11:37 Lucerne 02:37 LA -9 hours
11:37 Lucerne 01:37 Anchorage -10 hours
11:37 Lucerne 12:37 Honolulu -11 hours

Reading the functions

The arrows next to the watch above allow you to show different time zones.

First time zone

The hands display the first time zone.

Second time zone

The adjustable time zone disk displays the second time zone. If the second time zone is ahead of yours (for example, +3 hours), you adjust the time zone disk until it displays this number at 12 o’clock. If the second time zone is behind yours, you subtract from 12, and set the result at 12 o’clock. Examples are available on the interactive watch above.

Technical information

Dimensions

42mm x 10.4mm or 39mm x 10.4mm (incl. crystal)

Weight

42mm titanium: 62g (incl. sturgeon leather strap and buckle)
42mm sterling silver 925: 101g

39mm titanium: 54gr
39mm sterling silver 925: 93g

Water resistance

50m in titanium, 30m in sterling silver 925. Both models are fit for almost any situation in daily life. For swimming, we recommend titanium.

Case

2-part case designed by Ludwig Oechslin. Available in grade 5 titanium or sterling silver 925; additional materials upon request. Visible machining marks. ochs und junior watches require no movement ring due to the extremely small manufacturing tolerances on the case. Available exclusively with a solid case back. Manufacturer: Peter Cantieni / Hinwil / Switzerland.

Base movement

ETA 2824 with 38 hours of power reserve. Hand-regulated by ochs und junior to 0/+5 seconds per day. Manufacturer: ETA SA / Grenchen / Switzerland.

Crown

Screw-down crown designed by Ludwig Oechslin. Manufacturable on the right or left side of the case. Available in grade 5 titanium or sterling silver 925; other materials upon request. Manufacturer: Pibor SA / Glovelier / Switzerland.

Buckle

Leather strap: Designed by Ludwig Oechslin for 22mm watch straps with no loops. Visible machining marks. Grade 5 titanium or sterling silver 925; additional materials upon request. The design of the buckle differs slightly for a 42mm and a 39mm case and matches the lugs. Manufacturer: Peter Canieni / Hinwil / Switzerland.

Rubber strap: Classic buckle, designed by Ludwig Oechslin. Visible machining marks. Grade 5 titanium or sterling silver 925; additional materials upon request. The design of the buckle differs slightly for a 42mm and a 39mm case and matches the lugs. Manufacturer: Peter Canieni / Hinwil / Switzerland.

Watch straps

We offer over 80 possibilities, which you can explore in our straps pages: sturgeon, leather, suede, rubber.

Crystal

The sapphire crystals are manufactured by Stettler in Lyss / Switzerland. Both sides are treated with anti-reflective coating by Econorm in St-Imier / Switzerland.

Night visibility

To assure optimal readability of the time at night, we use Super-LumiNova X1. This coating is manufactured by RC TRITEC in Teufen / Switzerland. In principle, all Pantone colors can be made. Super-LumiNova is always applied in conjunction with a color pigment. The brighter the color, the better the luminosity. At night, Super-LumiNova shines green (the option used by ochs und junior) or blue, on special request. The Super-LumiNova coating is applied by hand by ochs und junior, or for dials with a color application by Cador in Eimeldingen / Germany and by Monyco in La Chaux-de-Fonds / Switzerland.

Designed by ochs und junior

Watches in the two time zones store are designed by ochs und junior. Individually manufactured, they have the potential to become classics.

Custom-made

Ludwig Oechslin’s rigorously simple designs, the fact that we individually manufacture our parts, and the direct contact we have with our clients enable us to offer the highest possible degree of customization. The customizer shows many possibilities. We are also happy to discuss ideas which are not in the customizer with you. Please contact cofounder Beat Weinmann for a personal consultation.